Conservative Viewpoints

"Government is not the solution…it is the problem" -Ronald Reagan

  • ReoAd



Want to know what’s wrong with Washington? EVERYTHING!

Posted by Stephen on March 10, 2009

We voted for change because the sky was falling and people were sick of seeing the same face at the head of the table. Change came in the form of screaming political leaders from the Democratic Party who lamented about being left off the dinner list for far to long.

Democrats blamed Republicans. Republicans glanced at cameras with sheepish stares claiming how misguided change was if it came in the form of big government. The big government party represented by Andrew Jackson’s jackass promised that they weren’t interested in spending us out of trouble, but a trillion dollars later no one can believe them.

Now what? We spent a lot of energy and a lot of resources looking for change so now that the change has come in the form of a debt that my grandchildren will have to pay, who do I blame?

Taxpayers for Common Sense has released its latest list breaking down the top 20 Earmarking Senators in the latest $410 Billion Spending Bill set to come up for a vote by the end of the day.

Who is the biggest earmarker of them all? According to Taxpayers for Common Sense, Sen. Robert Byrd, D-W.Va., takes the cake, with 60 earmarks worth $123 million in the latest spending bill before the Senate.

He’s hardly alone. The budget watchdog group has released its latest list breaking down the earmarks, lawmaker-by-lawmaker, in this spendalicious bill. The bill would fund the government through the end of the fiscal year, with an 8.5 percent increase over last year and billions of dollars in pet projects.

Here’s a breakdown of the top 20 earmarking senators and the value of their solo earmarks:

1) Sen. Robert Byrd, D-W.Va. — $122,804,900

2) Sen. Richard Shelby, R-Ala. — $114,484,250

3) Sen. Kit Bond, R-Mo. — $85,691,491

4) Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif. — $76,899,425

5) Sen. Thad Cochran, R-Miss. — $75,908,475

6) Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska — $74,000,750

7) Sen. Tom Harkin, D-Iowa — $66,860,000

 Sen. Jim Inhofe, R-Okla. — $53,133,500

9) Sen. Mitch McConnell, R-Ky. — $51,186,000

10) Sen. Daniel Inouye, D-Hawaii — $46,380,205

11) Sen. Patty Murray, D-Wash. — $39,228,250

12) Sen. Byron Dorgan, D-N.D. — $36,547,100

13) Sen. Pat Leahy, D-Vt. — $36,161,125

14) Sen. Dick Durbin, D-Ill. — $35,577,250

15) Sen. Bob Casey, D-Pa. — $27,169,750

16) Sen. Harry Reid, D-Nev. — $26,628,613

17) Sen. Arlen Specter, R-Pa. — $25,320,000

18) Sen. Herb Kohl, D-Wis. — $23,832,000

19) Sen. Chuck Schumer, D-N.Y. — $21,952,250

20) Former Sen. Pete Domenici, R-N.M. — $19,588,625

Click here to read the full report from Taxpayers for Common Sense.

Stephen Winslow is the executive editor of Conservative Viewpoints.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: